Being girls, there is knowledge that we are born with, and there are things that we learn with time. Now these are not just things like figuring out which angle works best for photos of our faces, or finding that perfect inner voice that reads stuff out as we type it. These are also not just unbelievably repetitive things that we’d pick up anyway- like how it will be with 98th cycle of America’s Next Top Model and Tyra Banks will tell the models that she simply can NOT believe how their number shrinks each week (‘16 beautiful women stand before me. I only have 15 cards in my hands’).

Often times, we learn self discovery. We learn self discovery in figuring out what we absolutely detest in other people, and in that, we learn about ourselves.

Some things, we learn by experience. For instance, we learn to recognize a friends re-bound boyfriend for what he is. Even when she is  convinced that their rainbows will paint a world free of poverty and sorrow. Just like the last time this happened.  Or that certain things need to be scheduled around PMS times and that is quite unavoidable most times.

And some things, we learn with time along with experience. Like how and why our Mothers made the choices that they did and how much we really appreciate them for making those choices. Like self preservation and jackets that protect our elbows from the cold. Like picking out the nice guys from the jerks and also the urbane jerks from the real jerks. Like clothes that make us feel good about our best features and dance moves that can be repeated to form a signature step.

I’ve had this post sitting in my dashboard for weeks now and apologize for the loopiness. I hope you enjoy the song! I love it.

I leave you with this, from this fun website.

Shall I write it in a letter?
Shall I try to get it down?
Oh, you fill my head with pieces
Of a song I can’t get out.

– ‘Bloom’ by The Paper Kites